Tweet
Share
Send

AWS re:Invent Live: All About the 2023 Edition

DAY 1

The Micropole team is hit by the crowd, covid seems far away... The AWS re:Invent, which traditionally takes place every year in Las Vegas, is an event not to be missed, as it provides a synoptic view of the major directions of the Cloud and Data market, and the new technologies that AWS is continually adding to its already extensive catalog of services, as well as instructive customer feedback on best practices for implementing these technologies and the gains obtained. The 2023 edition, which welcomes more than 60,000 people this year, is no exception to the rule... And cEvery session, whether it's about innovation, technology, case studies, or learning labs, offers something for everyone.

Generative AI Dominates Discussions
Integrating with various AWS services or tools such as Tableau or Salesforce, generative AI promises productivity gains across all industries. But these technologies also bring their share of questions: beyond the buzz, what value can really be extracted from it and what risks must be taken into account?

One session in particular, entitled "A leader's guide to generative AI", offered some interesting avenues:

  • Success depends on the right choice of tools; It is essential to select the right model carefully.
  • A solid foundation is a must; It is crucial to establish a reliable data foundation.
  • Enthusiasm and skepticism will be present; We need to focus on the problem rather than the solution.
  • Learning new skills is key to rethinking work; It's time to train your teams and reimagine work processes.
  • The changes brought about by the IA create new risks and liabilities; These new challenges must be recognized and accepted.
  • Value and new ideas are growing explosively; it's time to start working with generative AI.


These precepts remind us
that integrating generative AI is a process that requires discernment, preparation, and a willingness to embrace change.


The Evolution of Fundamental AWS Services

Beyond the subject of generative AI, it is interesting to look at the evolution of fundamental AWS services to set up a modern and scalable data base with reliable, usable and documented data, a prerequisite for any desire to develop a reliable and efficient AI or GenAI model.

Whether or not you're new to migrating your data platforms to the cloud, it's worth noting that AWS offers a number of very useful services that make it much easier to do so, from automatically discovering and evaluating your data sources (AWS DMS Fleet Advisor) to migrating your data (AWS DMS) to converting your database schemas (AWS Schema Conversion). The newly released AWS Serverless DMS even supports the automatic allocation of network infrastructure and resources needed to migrate your data sources (whether on-premises or in the cloud) in a secure manner.

AWS DMS (Data Migration Service) has been used by more than a million users since its launch, and AWS itself has used this service to migrate its on-premises data sources (500K databases, 500PB of data) to its own cloud in recent years, proof that this service is scalable.

Amazon Redshift benefits from a number of evolutions, including the integration of Amazon Forecast to make predictions on temporal data from Redshift, the invocation of LLM models developed with SageMaker Jumpstart, and the ability to create and train machine learning models (based on SageMaker)) using SQL directly from the Redshift Query Editor. It also provides a notebook-like experience for managing and executing SQL queries and performing data exploration and analysis.

Also of note is the native integration between Amazon Kinesis and Redshift, which allows data from a data stream to be ingested into Redshift in near real-time, and the ability to invoke a prediction function on this data via Redshift ML (the example was the detection of fraudulent bank transactions in real time).

Also announced last night during the Keynote by Peter DeSantis was the introduction in Redshift Serverless of a query optimizer based on a machine learning model designed to predict the complexity and costs of query execution and to automatically trigger the autoscaling of the Redshift infrastructure (within the limits of the maximums indicated by the customer) when a complex query is likely to block or delay the execution of classic queries (in the old version, auto-scaling was triggered based on the number of concurrent queries, regardless of their complexity).

Finally, AWS is giving pride of place to Data Governance this year, with the introduction last May of Amazon DataZone, a data management service that allows you to discover, inventory, analyze, document, share, and secure access to your data. This service, which interfaces natively with Glue Catalog to collect metadata from your sources, offers a data portal called the Amazon DataZone portal allowing you to create an ontological dictionary made of Business terms,

and associate them with data objects (Assets) and/or their attributes. This is a welcome initiative because it interfaces natively with the main AWS data services (S3, Redshift, Aurora, etc.) and thus greatly simplifies the creation and maintenance of a data portal. It would be interesting to see the upcoming integration with AWS Macie, a service that can automatically detect the sensitivity of analyzed data stored on S3. To be continued...

Charles Moureau

Charles Moureau

Director Cloud4Data

Thomas Dallemagne

Thomas Dallemagne

Partner Advisory

How chatbots are transforming our interactions with data

How chatbots are transforming our interactions with...

Chatbots have been part of our daily lives for several years now...
Optimizing product data management: a structuring challenge won by Galeries Lafayette and Micropole

Optimization of product data management:...

Levallois-Perret, January 5, 2024. Micropole, an international consulting group specializing in...
Datavisualisation: 5 pitfalls to avoid

Datavisualisation: 5 pitfalls to avoid

Collecting and storing data has become quite commonplace for companies,...
ACCELERATE WITH US
ARE YOU DATA FLUENT?

Contact us

Tweet
Partager
Envoyer

AWS re:Invent en live : tout sur l’édition 2023

JOUR 1

L’équipe Micropole est frappée par la foule, le covid semble bien loin… L’AWS re:Invent qui a traditionnellement lieu tous les ans à Las Vegas est un événement à ne pas rater, car il permet d’obtenir une vision synoptique des grandes orientations du marché du Cloud et de la Data, et des nouveautés technologiques qu’AWS ajoute continuellement à son catalogue de services déjà bien fourni, mais également des retours d’expérience clients riches d’enseignement concernant les bonnes pratiques de mise en œuvre de ces technologies et les gains obtenus. L’édition 2023 qui accueille plus de 60 000 personnes cette année ne déroge pas à la règle Et chaque session, qu’elle aborde l’innovation, la technologie, des études de cas ou les labos d’apprentissage, offre quelque chose pour tous.

L’IA générative domine les discussions
S’intégrant dans différents services AWS ou dans des outils tels que Tableau ou Salesforce, l’IA générative promet des gains de productivité à travers tous les secteurs d’activité. Mais ces technologies amènent également leur lot de questions : au-delà du buzz, quelle valeur peut-on réellement en extraire et quels risques doivent être pris en compte ?

Une session en particulier, intitulée “A leader’s guide to generative AI”, a proposé quelques pistes intéressantes :

  • La réussite passe par le choix judicieux des outils ; il est essentiel de sélectionner le bon modèle avec soin.
  • Une base solide est indispensable ; il est crucial d’établir une fondation de données fiable.
  • L’enthousiasme et le scepticisme seront présents ; il faut se concentrer sur le problème plutôt que sur la solution.
  • L’acquisition de nouvelles compétences est essentielle pour repenser le travail ; il est temps de former vos équipes et de réimaginer les processus de travail.
  • Les changements apportés par l’AI engendrent de nouveaux risques et responsabilités ; il faut reconnaître et accepter ces nouveaux défis.
  • La valeur et les nouvelles idées connaissent une croissance explosive ; il est temps de commencer à travailler avec l’AI générative.


Ces préceptes nous rappellent
que l’intégration de l’AI générative est une démarche qui exige discernement, préparation et une volonté d’embrasser le changement.


L’évolution des services AWS fondamentaux

Au-delà du sujet de l’IA générative, il est intéressant de se pencher sur l’évolution des services AWS fondamentaux permettant de mettre en place un socle de données moderne et scalable avec des données fiables, exploitables et documentées, condition préalable à toute velléité de développement d’un modèle d’IA ou GenAI fiable et performant.

Que vous ayez ou non débuté la migration de vos plates-formes de données vers le Cloud, il est intéressant de noter qu’AWS propose un certain nombre de services très utiles facilitant grandement cette opération, depuis la découverte et l’évaluation automatique de vos sources de données (AWS DMS Fleet Advisor) jusqu’à la migration de vos données (AWS DMS) en passant par la conversion de vos schémas de base de données (AWS Schema Conversion). AWS DMS Serverless disponible depuis peu, prend même en charge l’allocation automatique de l’infrastructure réseau et des ressources nécessaires pour opérer la migration de vos sources de données (qu’elles soient on premises ou en Cloud) de manière sécurisée.

AWS DMS (Data Migration Service) a été utilisé par plus d’un million d’utilisateur depuis son lancement, et AWS a lui-même utilisé ce service pour opérer la migration de ses sources de données on premises (500K bases de données, 500PB de données) vers son propre Cloud ces dernières années, preuve que ce service est scalable.

Amazon Redshift bénéficie de nombreuses évolutions, dont l’intégration d’Amazon Forecast permettant d’effectuer des prévisions sur des données temporelles depuis Redshift, l’invocation de modèle LLM développés avec SageMaker Jumpstart, ou encore la possibilité de créer et d’entraîner des modèles de Machine Learning (basés sur SageMaker) à l’aide du langage SQL directement depuis l’éditeur de requêtes Redshift. Il propose également une expérience de type Notebook pour gérer et exécuter ses requêtes SQL et effectuer de l’exploration et de l’analyse de données.

À noter également l’intégration native entre Amazon Kinesis et Redshift qui permet d’ingérer en quasi-temps réel dans ce dernier des données issues d’un flux de données, ou encore la possibilité d’invoquer une fonction de prédiction sur ces données via Redshift ML (l’exemple correspondait à la détection de transactions bancaires frauduleuse en temps réel).

Également annoncé hier soir lors de la Keynote par Peter DeSantis l’introduction dans Redshift Serverless d’un optimiseur de requêtes basé sur un modèle de Machine Learning destiné à prédire la complexité et les coûts d’exécution des requêtes et de déclencher automatiquement l’auto scaling de l’infrastructure Redshift (dans la limite des maxima indiqués par le client) lorsqu’une requête complexe est susceptible de bloquer ou retarder l’exécution de requêtes classiques (dans l’ancienne version, l’auto-scaling était déclenché en fonction du nombre de requêtes concurrentes, indépendamment de leur complexité).

Enfin, AWS fait la part belle cette année à la Data Governance, avec l’introduction en mai dernier d’Amazon DataZone, un service de gestion des données permettant de découvrir, inventorier, analyser, documenter, partager et sécuriser l’accès à vos données. Ce service, qui s’interface nativement avec Glue Catalog pour collecter les métadonnées de vos sources, offre notamment un portail de données baptisé Amazon DataZone portal permettant de créer un dictionnaire ontologique fait de Business terms,

et d’associer ces derniers aux objets de données (Assets) et/ou à leurs attributs. Une initiative bienvenue car elle s’interface nativement avec les principaux services de données AWS (S3, Redshift, Aurora…) et simplifie ainsi grandement la création et l’alimentation d’un portail de données. Il serait intéressant de voir l’intégration prochaine avec AWS Macie, un service qui sait automatiquement détecter la sensibilité des données analysées stockées sur S3. Affaire à suivre…

Charles Moureau

Charles Moureau

Directeur Cloud4Data

Thomas Dallemagne

Thomas Dallemagne

Partner Advisory

Comment les chatbots transforment nos interactions avec la donnée

Comment les chatbots transforment nos interactions avec...

Les chatbots sont depuis plusieurs années maintenant, rentrés dans nos habitudes de…
Optimisation de la gestion des données produits : un défi structurant remporté par Galeries Lafayette et Micropole

Optimisation de la gestion des données produits :...

Levallois-Perret, le 5 janvier 2024. Micropole, groupe international de conseil spécialisé dans…
Datavisualisation : les 5 pièges à éviter

Datavisualisation : les 5 pièges à éviter

Récolter et stocker sa donnée est devenu plutôt usuel pour les entreprises,…
ACCÉLÉREZ AVEC NOUS
ÊTES-VOUS DATA FLUENT ?

Contactez-nous