Tweet
Share
Send

AWS re:Invent Day 2: all about the 2023 edition

DAY 2

Today we bring you a "short" summary of the key announcements and sessions in which the Micropole team took part!

GenAI on every floor

Let's start with AWS CEO Adam Selipsky's Keynote yesterday morning, announcing a host of new hardware and software features aimed at companies wishing to leverage AWS Cloud resources at the lowest cost to develop their AI and GenIA projects.

Selipsky then reminded the audience that a modern AI foundation is made up of 3 layers (Infrastructure / Tools / Apps), before going into the details of the announcements, the first of which concern the Infrastructure layer. For some time now, AWS has been investing in the creation of processors optimized for specific tasks, offering a good cost/performance ratio and a moderate carbon footprint.

On the menu, then, is the arrival of the Graviton Gen4 general-purpose processor (the first version dates back to 2018), between 30 and 40% faster than the G3, available in a new EC2 R8g instance type announced in the process. This type of machine is notably used by SAP to run large workloads on the AWS Cloud. Selipsky also announced the arrival of Trainium 2 chips, optimized for training deep neural networks (Deep Learning) and in particular LLM (Large Languages Models) generating inferences and FM (Foundations Models), and recalled the availability of the Inferencia 2 chip optimized for generating Deep Learning model inferences.

Another announcement designed to significantly improve performance is the arrival of Amazon S3 Express One Zone, a new class of S3 storage offering the best possible performance combined with very low latency, designed to accelerate very data-intensive activities, including Machine / Deep Learning model training or ad-hoc analytical querying of data stored on S3.

On the tools side, Amazon Bedrock (GenAI application creation) has seen its customization functionalities extended: after support for Fine Tuning, now comes RAG (Retrieval Augmented Generation) and Continuous retraining. Bedrock is now integrated into CloudWatch and CloudTrail and can provide recommendations. Also noteworthy is the ability to create policies for Bedrock AI models to meet the challenges of ethical AI...

But the announcement that undoubtedly received the best reception was that ofAmazon Q, a GenAI assistant designed to facilitate everyday tasks at work (more or less the equivalent of Microsoft's Copilot), trained on 17 years of AWS knowledge base. It can index numerous data sources, including Salesforce, Office 365, Box and Onedrive, as well as AWS data sources, and consolidates these elements in a vector database used by the agent to answer questions or provide advice. 

provide suggestions. Amazon Q is already integrated with QuickSight (in preiew) and enables users to obtain recommendations for designing reports & Dashbaords, obtain narratives on graphs / KPIs, or create Stories to make QuickSight report presentations more punchy. These features are undoubtedly a major step towards the democratization of self-service BI.

With all these announcements, AWS is stepping up a gear, clearly demonstrating its ambitions in the highly promising GenAI market. But also its determination to democratize its use for all types of profiles, and to improve the operational efficiency of users in their day-to-day tasks.

One step closer to an Enterprise Data Driven

Being data-driven remains the holy grail for many companies. It's not just a buzzword. It's about creating an ecosystem where data is essential and ubiquitous, ensuring ease of access, fluid collaboration and strict compliance.

Imagine a world where self-service analysis is intuitive. Data is easy to find, understand and use.

Introducing AWS Datazone: a tool that redefines the way we catalog, discover and manage data in organizations. Datazone comes in the form of a domain portal, a one-stop shop with APIs that enable your analytics or BI solutions to connect easily, supported by a data catalog and projects that facilitate governance and access control.

Data resources (such as Glue and Redshift tables) are part of a vast, searchable catalog, enriched by a business glossary and technical metadata defining data ownership and meaning.

It's not just about the tools, it's also about the underlying vision. As such, Amazon Datazone is positioned as a key layer for a true Data Mesh approach.
With Datazone, creating, defining and then providing access to data products from one department to another is child's play, enabling direct access to data via tools such as Athena, QuickSight or Sagemaker, for example.

This is a real step forward in the democratization of data.

Charles Moureau

Charles Moureau

Director Cloud4Data

Thomas Dallemagne

Thomas Dallemagne

Partner Advisory

How chatbots are transforming our interactions with data

How chatbots are transforming our interactions with...

Chatbots have been part of our daily lives for several years now...
Optimizing product data management: a structuring challenge won by Galeries Lafayette and Micropole

Optimization of product data management:...

Levallois-Perret, January 5, 2024. Micropole, an international consulting group specializing in...
Datavisualisation: 5 pitfalls to avoid

Datavisualisation: 5 pitfalls to avoid

Collecting and storing data has become quite commonplace for companies,...
ACCELERATE WITH US
ARE YOU DATA FLUENT?

Contact us

Tweet
Partager
Envoyer

AWS re:Invent Jour 2 : tout sur l’édition 2023

JOUR 2

Aujourd’hui on vous propose un « petit » résumé des annonces clés et des sessions auxquelles la team Micropole a participé !

GenAI à tous les étages

Commençons par la Keynote d’Adam Selipsky, CEO d’AWS hier matin, qui a annoncé de nombreuses nouveautés tant matérielles que logicielles destinées aux entreprises souhaitant exploiter les ressources du Cloud AWS au meilleur coût pour développer leurs projets d’IA et de GenIA.

Selipsky a ensuite rappelé qu’un socle d’IA moderne était selon lui constitué de 3 couches (Infrastructure / Tools / Apps), avant de rentrer dans le détail des annonces, dont les premières concernent la couche Infrastructure. AWS investit depuis un certain temps déjà dans la création de processeurs optimisés pour des tâches spécifiques et offrant un bon rapport coûts / performances ainsi qu’une empreinte Carbonne modérée.

Au menu donc, l’arrivée du processeur à usage général Graviton Gen4 (la première version datant de 2018), entre 30 et 40% plus rapide que le G3, disponible dans un nouveau type d’instance EC2 R8g annoncé dans la foulée. Ce type de machine est notamment utilisé par SAP pour exécuter des charges de travail importantes sur le Cloud AWS. Selipsky a également annoncé l’arrivée des puces Trainium 2, optimisées pour entraîner des réseaux neuronaux profonds (Deep Learning) et notamment les modèles LLM (Large Languages Models) générer des inférences et FM (Foundations Models), et a rappelé la disponibilité de la puce Inferencia 2 optimisée pour générer les inférences de modèles de Deep Learning.

Autre annonce destinée à améliorer significativement les performances, l’arrivée de Amazon S3 Express One Zone, une nouvelle classe de stockage S3 offrant les meilleures performances possibles combinées à une latence très basse, conçue pour accélérer les activités data très intensives, dont notamment l’entraînement des modèles de Machine / Deep Learning ou le requêtage analytiques ad-hoc de données stockées sur S3.

Côté outils, Amazon Bedrock (création d’application GenAI) voit ses fonctionnalités de personnalisation étendues : après le support du Fine Tuning, voici l’arrivée du RAG (Retrieval Augmented Generation) et du Continuous retraining. Bedrock est à présent intégré dans CloudWatch et CloudTrail et peut fournir des recommandations. A noter également la possibilité de créer des policies pour ses modèles d’IA Bedrock afin de répondre aux enjeux de l’IA étique…

Mais l’annonce qui a sans doute reçu le meilleur accueil est celle d’Amazon Q, un assistant GenAI conçu pour faciliter les tâches du quotidien au travail (plus ou moins l’équivalent du Copilot de Microsoft), entraîné sur 17 ans de base de connaissance AWS. Il peut indexer de nombreuses sources de données incluant Salesforce, Office 365, Box ou encore Onedrive, en plus évidemment des sources de données AWS, et consolide ces éléments dans une base vectorielle utilisée par l’agent pour répondre aux questions posées ou 

fournir des suggestions. Amazon Q est déjà intégré à QuickSight (en preiew) et permet d’obtenir des recommandations pour la conception de rapports & Dashbaords, d’obtenir des narratifs sur des graphes / KPIs, ou encore de créer des Stories pour rendre les présentations de rapports QuickSight plus percutantes. Ces fonctionnalités constituent à n’en pas douter une évolution majeure vers la démocratisation de la BI self-service.

Avec toutes ces annonces, AWS passe à la vitesse supérieure et affiche clairement vis-à-vis de ses compétiteurs ses ambitions sur le marché très prometteur de la GenAI. Mais également sa volonté de démocratiser son usage pour tout type de profils, et d’améliorer l’efficacité opérationnelle des utilisateurs dans leurs tâches du quotidien.

Un pas de plus vers un Entreprise Data Driven

Etre data-driven reste le graal pour de nombreuses entreprise. Ce n’est pas qu’un mot à la mode. Il s’agit de créer un écosystème où les données sont essentielles et omniprésentes, assurant facilité d’accès, collaboration fluide et conformité stricte.

Imaginez un monde où l’analyse en libre-service est intuitive. Vous trouvez, comprenez et exploitez facilement les données.

Voici AWS Datazone : un outil qui redéfinit la façon dont nous cataloguons, découvrons et gérons les données dans les organisations. Datazone se présente sous la forme d’un portail par domaine, un guichet unique avec des API permettant à vos solutions analytiques ou BI de s’y connecter facilement, soutenu par un catalogue de données et des projets qui facilitent la gouvernance et le contrôle d’accès.

Les ressources data (comme par exemple les tables Glue et Redshift) font partie d’un vaste catalogue consultable, enrichi d’un glossaires métier et de métadonnées techniques qui définissent la propriété et la signification des données.

Il ne s’agit pas seulement des outils mais aussi de la vision sous-jacente. Ainsi, Amazon Datazone se positionne comme une couche-clé pour une véritable approche Data Mesh.
Avec Datazone, créer, définir puis donner accès à des produits data d’un département à l’autre est un jeu d’enfant, permettant un accès direct aux données via des outils comme Athena, QuickSight ou Sagemaker, par exemple.

C’est un réel pas en avant vers la démocratisation des données.

Charles Moureau

Charles Moureau

Directeur Cloud4Data

Thomas Dallemagne

Thomas Dallemagne

Partner Advisory

Comment les chatbots transforment nos interactions avec la donnée

Comment les chatbots transforment nos interactions avec...

Les chatbots sont depuis plusieurs années maintenant, rentrés dans nos habitudes de…
Optimisation de la gestion des données produits : un défi structurant remporté par Galeries Lafayette et Micropole

Optimisation de la gestion des données produits :...

Levallois-Perret, le 5 janvier 2024. Micropole, groupe international de conseil spécialisé dans…
Datavisualisation : les 5 pièges à éviter

Datavisualisation : les 5 pièges à éviter

Récolter et stocker sa donnée est devenu plutôt usuel pour les entreprises,…
ACCÉLÉREZ AVEC NOUS
ÊTES-VOUS DATA FLUENT ?

Contactez-nous