Share on twitter
Tweet
Share on linkedin
Share
Share on email
Send

Transparency, responsibility and ethics, what regulations for artificial intelligence?

IA Act - Micropole

 

"A new era is coming," says Bruce Daley, a researcher at Stanford University. According to him, " technologies built on the model of the human brain, such as deep learning, are performing tasks as varied as medical diagnosis, risk assessment, program trading, fraud detection, product recommendation, image classification, voice recognition, translation or autonomous vehicles. And the first results already speak for themselves."¹

Artificial intelligence (AI) is considered one of the most promising technologies of our time, as it can offer many benefits in various fields such as healthcare, finance, manufacturing, transportation and many others. However, it also raises many concerns, including potential risks to jobs, privacy, security and national sovereignty. It is important to understand the benefits and risks of AI so that we can get the most out of it while minimizing the risks2.

 

Artificial intelligence fascinates as much as it worries

Artificial intelligence has been booming since the 2010s. Quickly, GAFAM (Google, Apple, Facebook, Amazon, Microsoft) invested heavily in the field of artificial intelligence and set up teams dedicated to the research and development of this technology. Since 2020, following the COVID-19 pandemic, the use of artificial intelligence has accelerated in various fields such as disease detection, vaccine and treatment research, and propagation prediction, but also with the aim of reinforcing security, anti-fraud and crime mechanisms.

The AI market is expected to reach $11.1 billion by 2025. Gartner estimates that by 2035, AI could help increase global productivity by 40% ³.

The introduction of some artificial intelligences was widely acclaimed for their relevance and diverse knowledge in different fields. However, this initial admiration turned to distrust and fear as users began to realize the risks associated with these technologies. In December 2022, the journal Nature expressed concern about the ability of researchers to distinguish abstracts written by artificial intelligences from those written by scientists, highlighting the difficulty in establishing absolute trust in these technologies.

In light of this, it is important to understand that AI mechanisms can infringe on privacy, be discriminatory, manipulative, or even produce physical, psychological, or economic harm. Therefore, it is crucial to carefully assess the benefits and risks associated with AI so that it can be used responsibly and minimize potential dangers

Artificial intelligence: an emerging regulatory framework

There are currently few regulations specific to artificial intelligence. However, many governments and international organizations are working to develop rules to govern its use and prevent risks. It is important to ensure that AI complies with existing laws and ethical standards, including privacy and non-discrimination.

Although AI systems were already partially regulated by the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) in 2018, the European Commission therefore adopted on April 21, 2021 a regulatory proposal, the AI Act aiming to propose "a legal framework for trustworthy AI."

This future regulation, which would be the second with extraterritorial scope, could come into force between 2023 and 2026. Its objectives are clear4:

  • Position the European Union as a major player in AI regulation,
  • Build a coherent European digital strategy that respects the fundamental rights and freedoms of individuals,
  • Promote cooperation between member states and prevent market fragmentation,
  • Facilitate the development of a single market for legal, safe and trustworthy AI applications.

"The EU wants to establish a level playing field for all market players and become "an international reference for AI rules."

Thomas Skordas, researcher at the CNRS

A key role for suppliers, distributors and users (companies) to ensure control and implementation of AI systems

Suppliers, distributors and users, all these actors are impacted by the implementation and monitoring of AI systems, as they all have different roles to play in their use and management.

The Artificial Intelligence Act will apply to the following actors5:

  • AI system providers, established in the Union or in a third country, who place AI systems on the market or commission them in the EU,
  • AI system distributors located in a third country when the results generated by the system are used in the European Union,
  • Users (legal entities) of AI systems located in the European Union.

    Vendors responsible for developing and supplying AI technologies to businesses are bound before AI is placed on the market or used within the EU by numerous obligations regarding conformity assessment, quality management, information to national authorities competences and technical documentation.

Users (companies) using these technologies to improve their operations and increase their efficiency, must respect the requirements of AI system providers (e.g.: general terms of use...), ensure human monitoring of AI systems, verify the proper use of processed data and inform providers in case of incidents or risks

The Artificial Intelligence Act will not impact :

  • Public authorities of a third country or international bodies using AI systems in the framework of international police and judicial cooperation agreements with the Union or with one or more Member States,
  • Purely private and non-commercial use of the AI system.
 

Contents and impacts of the regulation for suppliers, distributors and consumers

The proposed regulation is based on a risk-based approach that involves classifying AI systems by level of risk. The regulators distinguish four categories of AI classified according to their risks to individuals:

  • AI systems with "unacceptable" risks. They include mechanisms that influence behavior, leading to discrimination, in particular through the classification of people (e.g. refusal of a loan due to bad social behavior). The implementation of such systems is prohibited.
  • "Highly risky" AI systems. Eight systems have been defined as "very risky", such as vocational training, access to public services, border controls, etc. These systems require, among other things, the implementation of a risk management system, clear transparency towards individuals or human supervision. These systems require, among other things, the implementation of a risk management system, a clear transparency towards individuals or a human supervision. These systems, once compliant, are subject to a CE mark guaranteeing the conformity of the AI and the protection of the rights of individuals.
  • AI systems "with transparency obligation" having interactions with humans, used in particular to detect emotions or generating modified content (e.g.: chabots). These systems can be implemented subject to clear information to the consumer and the implementation of a code of conduct.
  • AI systems with minimal or no risk such as predictive maintenance.

 

IA Act-regulations-Micropole

Failure to comply with the obligations of the Artificial Intelligence Act may result in financial penalties and image damage

As with the GDPR, the Artificial Intelligence Act provides for financial penalties for non-compliance with certain obligations6:

  • Up to 30 million euros in fines or 6% of worldwide turnover in the event of moral or physical harm to individuals or their behaviour directly or indirectly, discrimination and failure to comply with the principles of risk-based approach,
  • 10 million euros or 2% of annual worldwide sales in the case of misleading or inaccurate information,
  • 20 million or 4% of worldwide turnover in the event of other breaches of the other obligations of the Artificial Intelligence Act.

Beyond these financial sanctions, companies can expect image damage in case of non-compliance with the obligations set forth by the legislator. Indeed, it is possible that the sanctions will be made public by the control authorities as they are in the RGPD (General Data Protection Regulation).

 

The "Artificial Intelligence Act" project includes ambitions asserted by the European Union, which will not be without consequences for AI actors acting on the European territory.

With this proposed regulation, the European Union is once again asserting its desire to impose extraterritorial regulations in the face of dominant players such as Asia and America. After a regulation focused on the protection of personal data and the rights of the persons concerned (RGPD), the European Commission legislates on a technology and its implementation framework in order to promote innovation and ethics and to position Europe as a major player in artificial intelligence.

In the next few years, companies should therefore expect to deepen their risk-based approach methods in order to bring their processes into compliance, but also to respond to new issues generated by the growing evolution of technologies

Célia Allouche
Senior Data privacy & Data governance Consultant
Éliott Mourier
Data compliance & Data privacy Manager
Sources:

1 and 2: Microsoft

3 : CNRS

4 : CNIL

5 and 6 : European Commission

AWS re:Invent Day 3 & 4: all about the 2023 edition

AWS re:Invent Day 3 & 4:...

DAY 3 AI in the spotlight (again and again) The eagerly-awaited keynote...
AWS re:Invent Day 2: all about the 2023 edition

AWS re:Invent Day 2: all about...

DAY 2 Today we bring you a "short" summary of the...
AWS re:Invent Live: All About the 2023 Edition

AWS re:Invent live: everything you need to know...

DAY 1 The Micropole team is hit by the crowd, covid seems...
ACCELERATE WITH US
ARE YOU DATA FLUENT?

Contact us

Share on twitter
Tweet
Share on linkedin
Partager
Share on email
Envoyer

Transparence, responsabilité et éthique, quelles réglementations pour l’intelligence artificielle ?

IA Act - Micropole

 

« Une nouvelle ère s’annonce », explique Bruce Daley, chercheur à l’université de Stanford. Selon lui, « des technologies construites sur le modèle du cerveau humain, comme le deep learning, effectuent des tâches aussi variées que le diagnostic médical, l’évaluation des risques, le program trading, la détection de fraudes, la recommandation de produits, la classification d’images, la reconnaissance vocale, la traduction ou les véhicules autonomes. Et les premiers résultats parlent déjà d’eux-mêmes.»¹

L’intelligence artificielle (IA) est considérée comme l’une des technologies les plus prometteuses de notre époque, car elle peut offrir de nombreux avantages dans divers domaines tels que la santé, la finance, la fabrication, les transports et bien d’autres. Cependant, elle suscite également de nombreuses inquiétudes, notamment en ce qui concerne les risques potentiels pour l’emploi, la vie privée, la sécurité et la souveraineté nationale. Il est important de comprendre les avantages et les risques de l’IA afin de pouvoir en tirer le meilleur parti tout en minimisant les risques2.

 

L’intelligence artificielle fascine autant qu’elle inquiète

L’intelligence artificielle connaît un véritable essor depuis les années 2010. Rapidement, les GAFAM (Google, Apple, Facebook, Amazon, Microsoft) ont investi massivement dans le domaine de l’intelligence artificielle et ont mis en place des équipes dédiées à la recherche et au développement de cette technologie. Depuis 2020, suite à la pandémie de COVID-19, l’utilisation de l’intelligence artificielle s’est accélérée dans divers domaines tels que la détection de la maladie, la recherche de vaccins et de traitements, et la prévision de la propagation, mais également dans le but de renforcer des mécanismes de sécurité, de lutte contre la fraude et de criminalité.

Le marché de l’IA devrait atteindre 11,1 milliards de dollars en 2025. Le Gartner estime que d’ici 2035, l’IA pourrait contribuer à augmenter la productivité mondiale de 40 % ³.

Le lancement de certaines intelligences artificielles a été largement acclamé pour leur pertinence et leur connaissance diversifiée dans différents domaines. Cependant, cette admiration initiale s’est transformée en méfiance et en crainte à mesure que les utilisateurs ont commencé à se rendre compte des risques associés à ces technologies. En décembre 2022, la revue Nature a exprimé ses préoccupations quant à la capacité des chercheurs à distinguer les résumés rédigés par des intelligences artificielles de ceux écrits par des scientifiques, ce qui a mis en évidence la difficulté à établir une confiance absolue en ces technologies.

À la lumière de cela, il est important de comprendre que les mécanismes d’IA peuvent porter atteinte à la vie privée, être discriminatoires, manipulateurs ou même produire des préjudices physiques, psychologiques ou économiques. Par conséquent, il est crucial d’évaluer soigneusement les avantages et les risques associés à l’IA afin de pouvoir l’utiliser de manière responsable et minimiser les éventuels dangers

L’intelligence artificielle : un cadre règlementaire naissant

Il existe actuellement peu de réglementations spécifiques à l’intelligence artificielle. Cependant, de nombreux gouvernements et organismes internationaux travaillent à élaborer des règles pour encadrer son utilisation et prévenir les risques. Il est important de s’assurer que l’IA respecte les lois et les normes éthiques en vigueur, notamment en matière de protection de la vie privée et de non-discrimination. 

Bien que les systèmes d’IA aient déjà été encadrés partiellement par le Règlement Général sur la Protection des Données personnelles (RGPD) en 2018, la Commission européenne a donc adopté le 21 avril 2021 une proposition de régulation, l’IA Act visant à proposer “un cadre juridique pour une IA digne de confiance”.

Ce futur règlement, qui serait le deuxième à portée extraterritoriale, pourrait entrer en vigueur entre 2023 et 2026. Ses objectifs sont clairs4:

  • Positionner l’Union Européenne comme acteur majeur sur la réglementation de l’IA,
  • Construire une stratégie européenne numérique cohérente et respectueuse des libertés et droits fondamentaux des individus,
  • Favoriser la coopération entre les états membres et empêcher la fragmentation du marché,
  • Faciliter le développement d’un marché unique pour des applications d’IA légales, sûres et dignes de confiance.

« L’UE veut établir des règles de jeu équitables pour tous les acteurs du marché et devenir « une référence internationale des règles de l’IA ».

Thomas Skordas, chercheur au CNRS

Un rôle clé pour les fournisseurs, distributeurs et utilisateurs (entreprises) pour assurer une maîtrise et la mise en place des systèmes d’IA

Fournisseurs, distributeurs et utilisateurs, tous ces acteurs sont impactés par la mise en place et le suivi des systèmes d’IA, car ils ont tous des rôles différents à jouer dans leur utilisation et leur gestion.

L’Artificial Intelligence Act s’appliquera aux acteurs5 suivants :

  • Les fournisseurs de systèmes d’IA, établis dans l’Union ou dans un pays tiers, qui mettent sur le marché ou mettent en service des systèmes d’IA dans l’UE,
  • Les distributeurs de systèmes d’IA situés dans un pays tiers lorsque les résultats générés par le système sont utilisés dans l’Union Européenne,
  • Les utilisateurs (personnes morales) de systèmes d’IA situés dans l’Union Européenne.

    Les fournisseurs responsables de développer et de fournir les technologies d’IA aux entreprises sont tenus avant la mise sur le marché ou l’utilisation de l’IA au sein de l’UE par de nombreuses obligations en matière d’évaluation de la conformité, de gestion de la qualité, d’information des autorités nationales compétences et de documentation technique.

Les utilisateurs (entreprises) utilisant ces technologies pour améliorer leurs opérations et augmenter leur efficacité, doivent respecter les prérequis des fournisseurs de systèmes d’IA (ex. : conditions générales d’utilisation…), assurer une surveillance humaine des systèmes d’IA, vérifier la bonne utilisation des données traitées et informer les fournisseurs en cas d’incidents ou de risques

L’Artificial Intelligence Act n’impactera pas :

  • Les autorités publiques d’un pays tiers ou organismes internationaux utilisant des systèmes d’IA dans le cadre d’accords internationaux de coopération policière et judiciaire avec l’Union ou avec un ou plusieurs États membres,
  • L’utilisation purement privée et non-commerciale du système d’IA.
 

Contenus et impacts de la règlementation pour les fournisseurs, distributeurs et consommateurs

La proposition de règlement est basée sur une approche par les risques qui implique une classification des systèmes d’IA par niveau de risque. Les régulateurs distinguent quatre catégories d’IA classées en fonction de leurs risques pour les individus :

  • Les systèmes d’IA à risques “inacceptables”. Ils incluent les mécanismes influençant les comportements, entraînant des discriminations notamment par le biais d’une classification des personnes (ex. : le refus d’un crédit à la suite d’un mauvais comportement social). La mise en place de ces systèmes est interdite.
  • Les systèmes d’IA “très risqués”. Huit systèmes ont été définis comme “très risqués” comme la formation professionnelle, l’accès aux services publics, les contrôles aux frontières, etc. Ces systèmes requièrent notamment la mise en place d’un dispositif de gestion des risques, une transparence claire vis à vis des individus ou encore une supervision humaine. Ces systèmes, une fois conformes, font l’objet d’un marquage CE garantissant la conformité de l’IA et la protection des droits des individus.
  • Les systèmes d’IA “avec obligation de transparence” ayant des interactions avec des humains, utilisés notamment pour détecter des émotions ou générant du contenu modifié (ex. : chabots). Ces systèmes peuvent être mis en place sous réserve d’une information totalement claire auprès du consommateur et de la mise en place d’un code de conduite.
  • Les systèmes d’IA à risques minimes ou nuls tels que la maintenance prédictive.

 

IA Act-réglementations-Micropole

Les manquements aux obligations prévues par l’Artificial Intelligence Act peuvent entraîner des sanctions pécuniaires et un préjudice d’image

 Comme pour le RGPD, l’Artificial Intelligence Act prévoit des sanctions financières en cas de non-respect de certaines obligations6  :

  • Jusqu’à 30 millions d’euros d’amende ou 6% du chiffre d’affaires mondial en cas de préjudices moraux ou physiques aux individus ou à leurs comportements directement ou indirectement, de discrimination et manquements aux principes d’approche par les risques,
  • 10 millions d’euros ou 2% du chiffre d’affaires annuel mondial en cas d’informations trompeuses ou inexactes,
  • 20 M d’€ ou 4% du chiffre d’affaires mondial en cas d’autres manquements aux autres obligations de l’Artificial Intelligence Act.

Au-delà de ces sanctions financières les entreprises peuvent s’attendre à un préjudice d’image en cas de non-respect des obligations prévues par le législateur. En effet, il est possible que les sanctions soient rendues publiques par les autorités de contrôle comme le sont celles du RGPD (Règlement général sur la protection des données).

 

Le projet “Artificial Intelligence Act” comporte des ambitions affirmées par l’Union Européenne, elles ne seront pas sans conséquences pour les acteurs de l’IA agissant sur le territoire européen.

Avec cette proposition de réglement, l’Union Européenne affirme une nouvelle fois sa volonté d’imposer une règlementation extraterritoriale face à des acteurs dominants tels que l’Asie ou l’Amérique. Après une réglementation centrée sur la protection des données personnelles et les droits des personnes concernées (RGPD), la Commission Européenne légifère sur une technologie et son cadre de mise en œuvre afin de favoriser innovation et éthique et de positionner l’Europe comme acteur majeur de l’intelligence artificielle.

Les entreprises doivent donc s’attendre dans les prochaines années à approfondir leurs méthodes d’approche par les risques pour mettre en conformité leurs processus mais aussi répondre à des problématiques nouvelles générées par l’évolution croissante des technologies

Célia Allouche
Senior Data privacy & Data governance Consultant
Éliott Mourier
Data compliance & Data privacy Manager
‏Sources :

1 et 2 : Microsoft

3 : CNRS

4 : CNIL

5 et 6 : Commission Européenne

La Data un levier pour vos enjeux de transformations RSE

La Data un levier pour vos enjeux...

Eliott Mourier, vous êtes manager Data compliance, comment accompagnez vous les sociétés…
La data : un enjeu stratégique au cœur du business

La data : un enjeu stratégique au...

L’exploitation des données permet aux entreprises de rester compétitives et de garantir…
ACCÉLÉREZ AVEC NOUS
ÊTES-VOUS DATA FLUENT ?

Contactez-nous