Tweet
Share
Send

Stellantis launches Mobilisights: a real Data strategy at the heart of the business

Leveraging data helps companies stay competitive and ensure future growth. And companies know it. In fact, companies around the world are devoting significant resources to new technologies to gain a competitive advantage. But are they making the necessary investments to achieve their goals? Stellantis answered this question positively at CES 2023 by announcing the creation of Mobilisights, a business unit entirely dedicated to the growth of the company's Data activities and associated B2B services. Mobilisights will leverage Stellantis' Connected Vehicle Data, which is expected to reach 34 million by 2030.

The announcement seems technological but it conceals eminently business issues and a new positioning of the brand on the market. Let's decipher the role played by data in this new positioning.

A new Ecosystem

Mobilisights' data and products will be accessible to a diverse set of stakeholders, which will include private sector companies, utilities, higher education institutions and research institutes. In other words, based on this data asset, Stellantis wants to strategically place itself at the center of an ecosystem; that is, at the heart of the interactions that allow all stakeholders to improve or create innovative services. What kind of value will emerge? Which actors will perceive this value and seize it? What monetization strategies can be used? Answering these questions through theory is difficult and would not be very productive, because the value will be revealed through use.

Indeed, innovation comes first and foremost from ecosystems that favor diversity of cultures, skills and technical expertise. When the ecosystem is well thought out, it forms a sounding board for capturing weak signals and the mood of the consumer. When it also opens up to suppliers, partners, and academics, it becomes a forum for identifying the innovations of tomorrow.

A new business model

The main value of Data being a utility value, Stellantis will seek to share Data widely to create new sources of revenue (generate about 20 billion euros of annual revenue by 2030). While keeping the control of the source, in this case the data collected from the vehicles, or more precisely the conditions of access to these data, to its interfaces and its products. With this positioning, Mobilisights will be able to compete with specialized actors in many sectors: software suppliers, maps or insurers. Because to exploit efficiently, the Data of the sensors and the other Data collected by the connected vehicles can be at the origin of a wide range of services and applications. The uses can be multiple, either in the manufacturer's core business (performance, vehicle maintenance, driving assistance) or in a parallel industry (risk management on the road, pay-as-you-go insurance policy, targeted advertising, ...).

Thanks to this future data heritage, Mobilisights can also position itself on societal and environmental aspects: making cities more intelligent, optimizing its customers' travels and even reducing pollution. Here again, we touch on an important aspect of Data Management: the future value of data. The data producer is not always in the best position to find an economic value in the use of its data. Sometimes, a third party's view is needed to identify the full potential.

Data protection and use

On the governance and data protection side, this new positioning will undoubtedly lead to debates about data ownership and use. Who owns the data? What consents for what purposes? Can the data be transmitted to trigger a remote service?

This raises the legal question of data ownership. Location, driving behavior and license plate are considered as personal data that identify the owner of the vehicle. The ownership of the data is therefore with the driver.

The CNIL has taken a position in its "Compliance Pack: Connected Vehicles and Personal Data" which details the different scenarios. Legislation is advancing at the same time as technology. A real battle over the use of data is therefore to be expected. But this example reveals a significant aspect of our digital society: Data is everywhere, it is everyone's business and all professions (like the legal aspects which will be preponderant in tomorrow's Data activities).

"As technology advances, so does legislation. So a real battle over the use of data is in store."

Data Fluent?

Finally, the topic of collective onboarding, the transformation of the company's organizations, women and men; is a topic in its own right. The company plans to rely on 4,500 engineers by 2024, including a thousand from within the company, who will be retrained in a "Software and Data" academy created for the occasion. We can see here that the success of this business transformation depends heavily on the ability of employees to adapt to these changes. On the HR side, Data can be a real opportunity for companies to offer new career paths and thus retain talent. However, they must be properly supported in this transformation.

Once again, Stellantis shows us that the company has the strengths and skills to become data-driven.

Samuel Descroix
Data Thinking Partner
Christian Poyau
Co-founder & CEO
Replay - Explore the synergies between Design & Low Code

Replay - Explore the synergies between Design...

At the heart of every digital device is the user, understanding his or her behavior,...
Video demonstration - Payroll management

Video demonstration - Mass control...

Discover a video presenting payroll management, one of the...
Micropole unveils a headset that captures customer emotions

Micropole unveils a headset that...

Micropole, the consulting group specializing in the digital transformation of companies, has...
ACCELERATE WITH US
ARE YOU DATA FLUENT?

Contact us

Tweet
Partager
Envoyer

Stellantis lance Mobilisights : une véritable stratégie Data au cœur du business

L’exploitation des données permet aux entreprises de rester compétitives et de garantir leur croissance future. Et les entreprises en sont conscientes. De fait, partout dans le monde, elles consacrent des ressources importantes aux nouvelles technologies pour se procurer un avantage concurrentiel. Mais font-elles les investissements nécessaires pour atteindre leurs objectifs ? Stellantis a répondu positivement à cette question à l’occasion du CES 2023 en annonçant la création de Mobilisights, une Business Unit entièrement dédiée à la croissance des activités Data de l’entreprise et des services B2B associés. Mobilisights exploitera les Data des véhicules connectés de Stellantis, qui devraient atteindre les 34 millions d’ici à 2030.

L’annonce semble technologique mais elle recèle des enjeux éminemment Business et un nouveau positionnement de la marque sur le marché. Décryptons le rôle joué par les données dans ce nouveau positionnement. 

Un nouvel Ecosystème

Les données et les produits de Mobilisights seront accessibles à un ensemble varié d’acteurs, qui comprendra des sociétés du secteur privé, des entreprises de services publics, des établissements d’enseignement supérieur et des instituts de recherche. Autrement dit, à partir de ce patrimoine de données, Stellantis souhaite se placer de façon stratégique au centre d’un écosystème ; c’est-à-dire au cœur des interactions permettant à toutes les parties prenantes d’améliorer ou de créer des services novateurs. Quel type de valeur va se dégager ? Quels acteurs vont percevoir cette valeur et s’en saisir ? Quelles peuvent être les stratégies de monétisation ? Répondre à ces questions par la théorie est difficile et serait peu productif, car la valeur se révèlera à l’usage.

En effet, l’innovation vient avant tout des écosystèmes qui privilégient la diversité de cultures, de compétences et d’expertises techniques. Quand l’écosystème est bien pensé, il forme une caisse de résonance pour capter les signaux faibles et l’humeur du consommateur. Quand il s’ouvre aussi aux fournisseurs, aux partenaires, aux milieux académiques… il forme comme un forum qui va permettre d’identifier les innovations de demain.

Un nouveau Business Model

La valeur principale de la Data étant une valeur d’utilité, Stellantis cherchera à partager largement les données pour créer de nouvelles sources de revenus (générer environ 20 milliards d’euros de chiffre d’affaires annuel d’ici à 2030).  Tout en gardant le contrôle de la source, en l’occurrence la Data remontée des véhicules, ou plus précisément les conditions d’accès à ces données, à ses interfaces et ses produits. Avec ce positionnement, Mobilisights pourra concurrencer des acteurs spécialisés dans de nombreux secteurs : fournisseurs de logiciel, de cartes ou  assureurs. Car exploiter efficacement, les Data des capteurs et les autres Data recueillies par les véhicules connectés peuvent être à l’origine d’une large gamme de services et d’applications. Les usages peuvent être multiples, soit dans le cœur de business du constructeur (performance, maintenance des véhicules, assistance à la conduite) soit dans une industrie parallèle (gestion des risques sur la route, police d’assurance à l’usage, publicité ciblée, …).

Grâce à ce futur patrimoine de données, Mobilisights peut également se positionner sur des aspects sociétaux et environnementaux : rendre les villes plus intelligentes, optimiser les déplacements de ses clients voire faire diminuer la pollution. Là encore, on touche à un aspect important du Data Management : la valeur future des données. Le producteur de données n’est pas toujours le mieux placé pour trouver une valeur économique dans l’usage de ses données. Il faut parfois le regard d’un tiers pour identifier tout le potentiel.

Protection et usage des données

Du côté gouvernance et protection des données, ce nouveau positionnement entrainera, à n’en pas douter, des débats autour de la propriété et l’usage des données. A qui appartiennent les données ? Quels consentements pour quelles finalités ? Les données peuvent-elles être transmises pour déclencher un service à distance ?

Cela pose la question juridique de la propriété des données. La localisation, le comportement routier ou encore la plaque d’immatriculation sont considérés comme des données personnelles permettant d’identifier le propriétaire du véhicule. La propriété en revient donc au conducteur.

La CNIL a pris position dans son “Pack de Conformité : Véhicules connectés et données personnelles” qui détaille les différents scénarios.  La législation avance en même temps que la technologie. Une véritable bataille sur l’utilisation des données est donc à prévoir. Mais cet exemple révèle un aspect prégnant de notre société numérique : la Data est partout, elle est l’affaire de tous et de tous les métiers (comme les aspects juridiques qui seront prépondérants dans les activités Data de demain).

« La législation avance en même temps que la technologie. Une véritable bataille sur l'utilisation des données est donc à prévoir. »

Data Fluent ?

Enfin, le sujet d’embarquement du collectif, la transformation des organisations, des femmes et des hommes de l’entreprise ; est un sujet à part entière. Le constructeur compte s’appuyer sur 4.500 ingénieurs d’ici à 2024, dont un millier provenant de l’interne, qui vont être reconvertis dans le cadre d’une académie « Software et Data » créée pour l’occasion. On voit ici que la réussite de cette transformation Business dépend fortement de la capacité des collaborateurs à s’adapter à ces changements. Côté RH, la Data peut être une véritable opportunité permettant aux entreprises de proposer de nouveaux parcours, de nouvelles trajectoires de carrières et, ainsi, de garder les talents. Encore faut-il qu’ils soient correctement accompagnés dans cette transformation.

Une fois de plus, Stellantis nous démontre que l’entreprise possède en elle-même les forces et les compétences nécessaires pour devenir « data-driven ».

Samuel Descroix
Partner Data Thinking
Christian Poyau
Co-fondateur & Président Directeur Général
WIDE remporte l’Or aux TOP/COM Grands Prix Consumer 2023 et aux Trophées Marketing B2B.  L’agence est également sacrée Cas d’Or de la relation client et Grand Prix du Jury aux Cas d’Or du Marketing.

WIDE remporte l’Or aux TOP/COM Grands Prix...

Levallois-Perret, le 11 décembre 2023.WIDE, l’agence digitale de Micropole, groupe international de…
Feel'Tech : l'immersion sensorielle au service de l’expérience client

Feel'Tech : l'immersion sensorielle au service de...

Micropole, groupe international de conseil spécialisé dans la transformation des entreprises par…
ACCÉLÉREZ AVEC NOUS
ÊTES-VOUS DATA FLUENT ?

Contactez-nous